Tuesday, April 28, 2009

Busy, Busy, Busy

My life has gotten ridiculously busy in the past couple of weeks. If I'm not in class, I'm writing papers, practicing voice, and trying to fit in time for both S and my friends. This past weekend was a lot of fun because A and T came to visit, but my Saturday was the most hectic day I've had all semester.

Saturday
8:30 get up, eat breakfast
9:00 Theta carwash! I held a sign and directed people to the proper driveway. The carwash was way more successful than anyone even hoped it would be; we raised over $800 for the new woman's shelter in Walla Walla!
10:30 We saw Alexander James Adams (formerly known as Heather Alexander) perform at the Whitman Renaissance Faire. He was surprisingly good, and I could hear remnants of Heather in his voice. Much better than the last time I heard him perform.
1:00 The Whitman Scavenger Hunt. This was the most hectic part of the day; Stasi, Tobi, Aliina, and I literally ran all over campus for 4 hours trying to complete the scavenger hunt. We didn't win, but we came pretty darn close and had a TON of fun!

Now, I'm trying to juggle a bunch of different projects that I should have been working on a long time ago, but didn't have the time for earlier. My biggest concern is the Shakespeare scene I'm performing on Thursday. I'm still working on memorization, but I hope we can pull it together on time!

Also, I've been having a lot of mood swings lately, where I'll go from ridiculously happy to incredibly stressed out to really angsty. I think a lot of this has to do with stress, and I really hope it goes away soon.

Wednesday, April 22, 2009

Lipstick?

Okay, seriously, this has to be the most awkward moment I've had so far this year. Accepting, of course, the "lip stuff is weird" incident, which goes down as the most awkward moment of all time. So, I have a vibrator that is cleverly disguised as a lipstick tube, which I keep on my desk in a discreet spot. However, today I accidentally left it out in plain view, and this is what happened:

Cami: Ooh, what shade is this?
Me: (lunging forward) NO, DON'T OPEN IT!

At which point, I had to explain that it is not actually a tube of lipstick. It is an object designed to give me orgasms when I HAVE NOT HAD SEXY TIME IN OVER A WEEK. Okay, that was a little bitter, but everything's good. I promise.

Tuesday, April 21, 2009

Crankosaurus

So, I've been a crankosaurus in a MAJOR way for the past few days. I think most of it has to do with homework stress this week and the pill messing with my hormones, but E has this theory that I'm afraid of relationships, so I'm subconsciously trying to find problems with S. Honestly, I'm not so sure it's my subconscious. I know that I can be very insecure about whether or not people like me or want to spend time with me, and I also know that I'm afraid I want him more than he wants me. Basically, I am scared, like everyone else on the face of this planet, that I am going to be rejected and hurt. So, instead of focusing on the little things I've been cranky about lately, I'm going to compile a list of reasons why I like S.

10 REASONS WHY S IS AWESOME, IN NO PARTICULAR ORDER

1. He gives great neck/hand/feet massages, and he gives them frequently.
2. He's not afraid to be quirky or silly.
3. When he asks for someone's opinion, he really wants to know.
4. He's interested in both science AND art. Very well-rounded.
5. He dances.
6. His family is really important to him, and his face lights up when he talks about them.
7. And, because my superficial side is showing, he's very good-looking. Devilishly handsome, even. Those are his words, not mine, although I agree with them :)
8. He always has these random facts about EVERYTHING. Sometimes I wonder if he makes them up...
9. He genuinely cares about his friends. He's the type of guy who will be there for his friends if they need him.
10. He cuddles.

And these are only the ones I thought of off the top of my head. Actually, I feel much less cranky now.

Anyways, I know I promised an update on meeting S's mother, but I really don't have much more time. She was very nice, it was a very casual lunch, and apparently, she told S that she thought I was "sweet and talkative", which is good because she doesn't like the quiet ones. So, it went well. Now my mom is a little annoyed because she hasn't met S even though she's known about him longer than his mom has known about me.

Sunday, April 19, 2009

The Ridiculosity of TM

Okay, this post is going to focus on TM and how ridiculous he has been lately. Our story starts last Tuesday, with the Surprise Text.

The Booty Text, 4 or 5 days after TM breaks up with his girlfriend:

TM: What you up to?
Me: Just left the Phi house, going to hang out with some friends.
TM: I haven't talked to you in 4ever. How you been?
Me: I've been really good. Super busy, but good. You?
TM: I've been chilling and enjoying life. How did any of those boys ever work out for ya? Find any keepers?
Me: Well, I broke up with the one I went out with before break, but I'm seeing someone else now.
TM: Nice. Sorry, I'm going to bed now.

And if this wasn't hilarious enough, I got back to my room to find that he had sent me a facebook message 10 minutes before texting me, asking basically the same thing. Can we say "desperate"?


The Barefoot Formal:

As most of you know, I met TM at last year's Barefoot Formal, when he was just a wee little prospie grinding on older college women (aka, me). To be fair, I was the one grinding on him. Anyways, last night was Barefoot Formal, and (this is a little bitchy of me) I felt pretty gratified that I had a boy, and TM was by himself. S was really cute last night, actually; we spent most of Barefoot Formal swing dancing, which was really fun. Afterwards, a group of us played light-up Bocce Ball and hung out in Stasi's apartment eating homemade ice cream. I'd say it was a great night, in all.

NEXT POST: Emily meets S's mother.

Wednesday, April 15, 2009

The Surprising Text

I don't have time for a full post, but I'm going to give a teaser for those of you who are eagerly awaiting my (lately infrequent) posts. Yesterday, around 7:30 pm, I got an unexpected text. It went something like this:

From: A SURPRISE
To: Emily
7:28 PM

What you up to?



MORE DETAILS TO COME

Monday, April 6, 2009

It's Been Awhile

Yeah, I suck at blogging sometimes. Good thing I only have three readers :)

To follow Caroline's example, I will write a list:

1. Housing drama. It sucks, and I wish I didn't have to deal with it. I'm sorry, but I still need to find somewhere to live, even if you can't get your act together.
2. Boy drama. It's not real drama because I like him, and he likes me, but I do think we need to talk about where we stand. We haven't yet because it turns out that I suck at these sorts of discussions.
3. Sunny weather! It's going to be 70 degrees today. I'm wearing a skirt. Yesterday, I wore a sundress.
4. My fantasy, come true. Yesterday, I danced with S to Van Morrison's "Moondance". This has been part of my ideal date for a very long time. It made me happy.
5. Volleyball! I had my first IM volleyball game yesterday. It was the first time I've played in two years, and it was so much fun! We lost by a lot because most of our players have never played before, but it was still a good time.